Dewey Decimal System – A Guide to Call Numbers

000 Generalities
001 Knowledge
002 The book
003 Systems
004 Data processing Computer science
005 Computer programming, programs, data
006 Special computer methods
007 Not assigned or no longer used
008 Not assigned or no longer used
009 Not assigned or no longer used
010 Bibliography
011 Bibliographies
012 Bibliographies of individuals
013 Bibliographies of works by specific classes of authors
014 Bibliographies of anonymous and pseudonymous works
015 Bibliographies of works from specific places
016 Bibliographies of works from specific subjects
017 General subject catalogs
018 Catalogs arranged by author & date
019 Dictionary catalogs
020 Library & information sciences
021 Library relationships
022 Administration of the physical plant
023 Personnel administration
024 Not assigned or no longer used
025 Library operations
026 Libraries for specific subjects
027 General libraries
028 Reading, use of other information media
029 Not assigned or no longer used
030 General encyclopedic works
031 General encyclopedic works — American
032 General encyclopedic works in English
033 General encyclopedic works in other Germanic languages
034 General encyclopedic works in French, Provencal, Catalan
035 General encyclopedic works in Italian, Romanian, Rhaeto-Romanic
036 General encyclopedic works in Spanish & Portuguese
037 General encyclopedic works in Slavic languages
038 General encyclopedic works in Scandinavian languages
039 General encyclopedic works in other languages
040 Not assigned or no longer used
041 Not assigned or no longer used
042 Not assigned or no longer used
043 Not assigned or no longer used
044 Not assigned or no longer used
045 Not assigned or no longer used
046 Not assigned or no longer used
047 Not assigned or no longer used
048 Not assigned or no longer used
049 Not assigned or no longer used
050 General serials & their indexes
051 General serials & their indexes American
052 General serials & their indexes In English
053 General serials & their indexes In other Germanic languages
054 General serials & their indexes In French, Provencal, Catalan
055 General serials & their indexes In Italian, Romanian, Rhaeto-Romanic
056 General serials & their indexes In Spanish & Portuguese
057 General serials & their indexes In Slavic languages
058 General serials & their indexes In Scandinavian languages
059 General serials & their indexes In other languages
060 General organization & museology
061 General organization & museology In North America
062 General organization & museology In British Isles In England
063 General organization & museology In central Europe In Germany
064 General organization & museology In France & Monaco
065 General organization & museology In Italy & adjacent territories
066 General organization & museology In Iberian Peninsula & adjacent islands
067 General organization & museology In eastern Europe In Soviet Union
068 General organization & museology In other areas
069 Museology (Museum science)
070 News media, journalism, publishing
071 News media, journalism, publishing In North America
072 News media, journalism, publishing In British Isles In England
073 News media, journalism, publishing In central Europe In Germany
074 News media, journalism, publishing In France & Monaco
075 News media, journalism, publishing In Italy & adjacent territories
076 News media, journalism, publishing In Iberian Peninsula & adjacent islands
077 News media, journalism, publishing In eastern Europe In Soviet Union
078 News media, journalism, publishing In Scandinavia
079 News media, journalism, publishing In other languages
080 General collections
081 General collections American
082 General collections In English
083 General collections In other Germanic languages
084 General collections In French, Provencal, Catalan
085 General collections In Italian, Romanian, Rhaeto-Romanic
086 General collections In Spanish & Portuguese
087 General collections In Slavic languages
088 General collections In Scandinavian languages
089 General collections In other languages
090 Manuscripts & rare books
091 Manuscripts
092 Block books
093 Incunabula
094 Printed books
095 Books notable for bindings
096 Books notable for illustrations
097 Books notable for ownership or origin
098 Prohibited works, forgeries, hoaxes
099 Books notable for format

100 Philosophy & psychology
101 Theory of philosophy
102 Miscellany of philosophy
103 Dictionaries of philosophy
104 Not assigned or no longer used
105 Serial publications of philosophy
106 Organizations of philosophy
107 Education, research in philosophy
108 Kinds of persons in philosophy
109 Historical treatment of philosophy
110 Metaphysics
111 Ontology
112 Not assigned or no longer used
113 Cosmology (Philosophy of nature)
114 Space
115 Time
116 Change
117 Structure
118 Force & Energy
119 Number & quantity
120 Epistemology, causation, humankind
121 Epistemology (Theory of knowledge)
122 Causation
123 Determinism & indeterminism
124 Teleology
125 Not assigned or no longer used
126 The self
127 The unconscious & the subconscious
128 Humankind
129 Origin & destiny of individual souls
130 Paranormal phenomena
131 Occult methods for achieving well-being
132 Not assigned or no longer used
133 Parapsychology & occultism
134 Not assigned or no longer used
135 Dreams & mysteries
136 Not assigned or no longer used
137 Divinatory graphology
138 Physiognomy
139 Phrenology
140 Specific philosophical schools
141 Idealism & related systems
142 Critical philosophy
143 Intuitionism & Bergsonism
144 Humanism & related systems
145 Sensationalism
146 Naturalism & related systems
147 Pantheism & related systems
148 Liberalism, eclecticism, traditionalism
149 Other philosophical systems
150 Psychology
151 Not assigned or no longer used
152 Perception, movement, emotions, drives
153 Mental processes & intelligence
154 Subconscious & altered states
155 Differential & developmental psychology
156 Comparative psychology
157 Not assigned or no longer used
158 Applied psychology
159 Not assigned or no longer used
160 Logic
161 Induction
162 Deduction
163 Not assigned or no longer used
164 Not assigned or no longer used
165 Fallacies & sources of error
166 Syllogisms
167 Hypotheses
168 Argument & persuasion
169 Analogy
170 Ethics (Moral philosophy)
171 Systems & doctrines
172 Political ethics
173 Ethics of family relationships
174 Economic & professional ethics
175 Ethics of recreation & leisure
176 Ethics of sex & reproduction
177 Ethics of social relations
178 Ethics of consumption
179 Other ethical norms
180 Ancient, medieval, Oriental philosophy
181 Oriental philosophy
182 Pre-Socratic Greek philosophies
183 Sophistic & Socratic philosophies
184 Platonic philosophy
185 Aristotelian philosophy
186 Skeptic and Neoplatonic philosophies
187 Epicurean philosophy
188 Stoic philosophy
189 Medieval Western philosophy
190 Modern Western philosophy
191 Modern Western philosophy United States & Canada
192 Modern Western philosophy British Isles
193 Modern Western philosophy Germany & Austria
194 Modern Western philosophy France
195 Modern Western philosophy Italy
196 Modern Western philosophy Spain & Portugal
197 Modern Western philosophy Soviet Union
198 Modern Western philosophy Scandinavia
199 Modern Western philosophy Other geographical areas

200 Religion
201 Philosophy of Christianity
202 Miscellany of Christianity
203 Dictionaries of Christianity
204 Special topics
205 Serial publications of Christianity
206 Organizations of Christianity
207 Education, research in Christianity
208 Kinds of persons in Christianity
209 History & geography of Christianity
210 Natural theology
211 Concepts of God
212 Existence, attributes of God
213 Creation
214 Theodicy
215 Science & religion
216 Good & evil
217 Not assigned or no longer used
218 Humankind
219 Not assigned or no longer used
220 Bible
221 Old Testament
222 Historical books of Old Testament
223 Poetic books of Old Testament
224 Prophetic books of Old Testament
225 New Testament
226 Gospels & Acts
227 Epistles
228 Revelation (Apocalypse)
229 Apocrypha & pseudepigrapha
230 Christian theology
231 God
232 Jesus Christ & his family
233 Humankind
234 Salvation (Soteriology) & grace
235 Spiritual beings
236 Eschatology
237 Not assigned or no longer used
238 Creeds & catechisms
239 Apologetics & polemics
240 Christian moral & devotional theology
241 Moral theology
242 Devotional literature
243 Evangelistic writings for individuals
244 Not assigned or no longer used
245 Texts of hymns
246 Use of art in Christianity
247 Church furnishings & articles
248 Christian experience, practice, life
249 Christian observances in family life
250 Christian orders & local church
251 Preaching (Homiletics)
252 Texts of sermons
253 Pastoral office (Pastoral theology)
254 Parish government & administration
255 Religious congregations & orders
256 Not assigned or no longer used
257 Not assigned or no longer used
258 Not assigned or no longer used
259 Activities of the local church
260 Christian social theology
261 Social theology
262 Ecclesiology
263 Times, places of religious observance
264 Public worship
265 Sacraments, other rites & acts
266 Missions
267 Associations for religious work
268 Religious education
269 Spiritual renewal
270 Christian church history
271 Religious orders in church history
272 Persecutions in church history
273 Heresies in church history
274 Christian church in Europe
275 Christian church in Asia
276 Christian church in Africa
277 Christian church in North America
278 Christian church in South America
279 Christian church in other areas
280 Christian denominations & sects
281 Early church & Eastern churches
282 Roman Catholic Church
283 Anglican churches
284 Protestants of Continental origin
285 Presbyterian, Reformed, Congregational
286 Baptist, Disciples of Christ, Adventist
287 Methodist & related churches
288 Not assigned or no longer used
289 Other denominations & sects
290 Other & comparative religions
291 Comparative religion
292 Classical (Greek & Roman) religion
293 Germanic religion
294 Religions of Indic origin
295 Zoroastrianism (Mazdaism, Parseeism)
296 Judaism
297 Islam & religions originating in it
298 Not assigned or no longer used
299 Other religions

300 Social sciences
301 Sociology & anthropology
302 Social interaction
303 Social processes
304 Factors affecting social behavior
305 Social groups
306 Culture & institutions
307 Communities
308 Not assigned or no longer used
309 Not assigned or no longer used
310 General statistics
311 Not assigned or no longer used
312 Not assigned or no longer used
313 Not assigned or no longer used
314 General statistics Of Europe
315 General statistics Of Asia
316 General statistics Of Africa
317 General statistics Of North America
318 General statistics Of South America
319 General statistics Of other parts of the world
320 Political science
321 Systems of governments & states
322 Relation of state to organized groups
323 Civil & political rights
324 The political process
325 International migration & colonization
326 Slavery & emancipation
327 International relations
328 The legislative process
329 Not assigned or no longer used
330 Economics
331 Labor economics
332 Financial economics
333 Land economics
334 Cooperatives
335 Socialism & related systems
336 Public finance
337 International economics
338 Production
339 Macroeconomics & related topics
340 Law
341 International law
342 Constitutional & administrative law
343 Military, tax, trade, industrial law
344 Social, labor, welfare, & related law
345 Criminal law
346 Private law
347 Civil procedure & courts
348 Law (Statutes), regulations, cases
349 Law of specific jurisdictions & areas
350 Public administration
351 Of central governments
352 Of local governments
353 of U.S. federal & state governments
354 Of specific central governments
355 Military science
356 Foot forces & warfare
357 Mounted forces & warfare
358 Other specialized forces & services
359 Sea (Naval) forces & warfare
360 Social services; association
361 General social problems & services
362 Social welfare problems & services
363 Other social problems & services
364 Criminology
365 Penal & related institutions
366 Association
367 General clubs
368 Insurance
369 Miscellaneous kinds of associations
370 Education
371 School management; special education
372 Elementary education
373 Secondary education
374 Adult education
375 Curriculums
376 Education of women
377 Schools & religion
378 Higher education
379 Government regulation, control, support
380 Commerce, communications, transport
381 Internal commerce (Domestic trade)
382 International commerce (Foreign trade)
383 Postal communication
384 Communications Telecommunication
385 Railroad transportation
386 Inland waterway & ferry transportation
387 Water, air, space transportation
388 Transportation Ground transportation
389 Metrology & standardization
390 Customs, etiquette, folklore
391 Costume & personal appearance
392 Customs of life cycle & domestic life
393 Death customs
394 General customs
395 Etiquette (Manners)
396 Not assigned or no longer used
397 Not assigned or no longer used
398 Folklore
399 Customs of war & diplomacy

400 Language
401 Philosophy & theory
402 Miscellany
403 Dictionaries & encyclopedias
404 Special topics
405 Serial publications
406 Organizations & management
407 Education, research, related topics
408 With respect to kinds of persons
409 Geographical & persons treatment
410 Linguistics
411 Writing systems
412 Etymology
413 Dictionaries
414 Phonology
415 Structural systems (Grammar)
416 Not assigned or no longer used
417 Dialectology & historical linguistics
418 Standard usage Applied linguistics
419 Verbal language not spoken or written
420 English & Old English
421 English writing system & phonology
422 English etymology
423 English dictionaries
424 Not assigned or no longer used
425 English grammar
426 Not assigned or no longer used
427 English language variations
428 Standard English usage
429 Old English (Anglo-Saxon)
430 Germanic languages German
431 German writing system & phonology
432 German etymology
433 German dictionaries
434 Not assigned or no longer used
435 German grammar
436 Not assigned or no longer used
437 German language variations
438 Standard German usage
439 Other Germanic languages
440 Romance languages French
441 French writing system & phonology
442 French etymology
443 French dictionaries
444 Not assigned or no longer used
445 French grammar
446 Not assigned or no longer used
447 French language variations
448 Standard French usage
449 Provencal & Catalan
450 Italian, Romanian, Rhaeto-Romantic
451 Italian writing system & phonology
452 Italian etymology
453 Italian dictionaries
454 Not assigned or no longer used
455 Italian grammar
456 Not assigned or no longer used
457 Italian language variations
458 Standard Italian usage
459 Romanian & Rhaeto-Romanic
460 Spanish & Portugese languages
461 Spanish writing system & phonology
462 Spanish etymology
463 Spanish dictionaries
464 Not assigned or no longer used
465 Spanish grammar
466 Not assigned or no longer used
467 Spanish language variations
468 Standard Spanish usage
469 Portuguese
470 Italic Latin
471 Classical Latin writing & phonology
472 Classical Latin etymology & phonology
473 Classical Latin dictionaries
474 Not assigned or no longer used
475 Classical Latin grammar
476 Not assigned or no longer used
477 Old, Postclassical, Vulgar Latin
478 Classical Latin usage
479 Other Italic languages
480 Hellenic languages Classical Greek
481 Classical Greek writing & phonology
482 Classical Greek etymology
483 Classical Greek dictionaries
484 Not assigned or no longer used
485 Classical Greek grammar
486 Not assigned or no longer used
487 Preclassical & postclassical Greek
488 Classical Greek usage
489 Other Hellenic languages
490 Other languages
491 East Indo-European & Celtic languages
492 Afro-Asiatic languages Semitic
493 Non-Semitic Afro-Asiatic languages
494 Ural-Altaic, Paleosiberian, Dravidian
495 Languages of East & Southeast Asia
496 African languages
497 North American native languages
498 South American native languages
499 Miscellaneous languages

500 Natural sciences & mathematics
501 Philosophy & theory
502 Miscellany
503 Dictionaries & encyclopedias
504 Not assigned or no longer used
505 Serial publications
506 Organizations & management
507 Education, research, related topics
508 Natural history
509 Historical, areas, persons treatment
510 Mathematics
511 General principles
512 Algebra & number theory
513 Arithmetic
514 Topology
515 Analysis
516 Geometry
517 Not assigned or no longer used
518 Not assigned or no longer used
519 Probabilities & applied mathematics
520 Astronomy & allied sciences
521 Celestial mechanics
522 Techniques, equipment, materials
523 Specific celestial bodies & phenomena
524 Not assigned or no longer used
525 Earth (Astronomical geography)
526 Mathematical geography
527 Celestial navigation
528 Ephemerides
529 Chronology
530 Physics
531 Classical mechanics Solid mechanics
532 Fluid mechanics Liquid mechanics
533 Gas mechanics
534 Sound & related vibrations
535 Light & paraphotic phenomena
536 Heat
537 Electricity & electronics
538 Magnetism
539 Modern physics
540 Chemistry & allied sciences
541 Physical & theoretical chemistry
542 Techniques, equipment, materials
543 Analytical chemistry
544 Qualitative analysis
545 Quantitative analysis
546 Inorganic chemistry
547 Organic chemistry
548 Crystallography
549 Mineralogy
550 Earth sciences
551 Geology, hydrology, meteorology
552 Petrology
553 Economic geology
554 Earth sciences of Europe
555 Earth sciences of Asia
556 Earth sciences of Africa
557 Earth sciences of North America
558 Earth sciences of South America
559 Earth sciences of other areas
560 Paleontology Paleozoology
561 Paleobotany
562 Fossil invertebrates
563 Fossil primitive phyla
564 Fossil Mollusca & Molluscoidea
565 Other fossil invertebrates
566 Fossil Vertebrata (Fossil Craniata)
567 Fossil cold-blooded vertebrates
568 Fossil Aves (Fossil birds)
569 Fossil Mammalia
570 Life sciences
571 Not assigned or no longer used
572 Biochemistry
573 Physical anthropology
574 Biology
575 Evolution & genetics
576 Microbiology
577 General nature of life
578 Microscopy in biology
579 Collection and preservation
580 Botanical sciences
581 Botany
582 Spermatophyta (Seed-bearing plants)
583 Dicotyledones
584 Monocotyledones
585 Gymnospermae (Pinophyta)
586 Cryptogamia (Seedless plants)
587 Pteridophyta (Vascular cryptograms)
588 Bryophyta
589 Thallobionta & Prokaryotae
590 Zoological sciences
591 Zoology
592 Invertebrates
593 Protozoa, Echinodermata, related phyla
594 Mollusca & Molluscoidea
595 Other invertebrates
596 Vertebrata (Craniata, Vertebrates)
597 Cold-blooded vertebrates Fishes
598 Aves (Birds)
599 Mammalia (Mammals)

600 Technology (Applied sciences)
601 Philosophy & theory
602 Miscellany
603 Dictionaries & encyclopedias
604 Special topics
605 Serial publications
606 Organizations
607 Education, research, related topics
608 Invention & patents
609 Historical, areas, persons treatment
610 Medical sciences Medicine
611 Human anatomy, cytology, histology
612 Human physiology
613 Promotion of health
614 Incidence & prevention of disease
615 Pharmacology & theraputics
616 Diseases
617 Surgery & related medical specialities
618 Gynecology & other medical specialities
619 Experimental medicine
620 Engineering & allied operations
621 Applied physics
622 Mining & related operations
623 Military & nautical engineering
624 Civil engineering
625 Engineering of railroads, roads
626 Not assigned or no longer used
627 Hydraulic engineering
628 Sanitary & municipal engineering
629 Other branches of engineering
630 Agriculture
631 Techniques, equipment, materials
632 Plant injuries, diseases, pests
633 Field & plantation crops
634 Orchards, fruits, forestry
635 Garden crops (Horticulture)
636 Animal husbandry
637 Processing dairy & related products
638 Insect culture
639 Hunting, fishing, conservation
640 Home economics & family living
641 Food & drink
642 Meals & table service
643 Housing & household equipment
644 Household utilities
645 Household furnishings
646 Sewing, clothing, personal living
647 Management of public households
648 Housekeeping
649 Child rearing & home care of sick
650 Management & auxiliary services
651 Office services
652 Processes of written communication
653 Shorthand
654 Not assigned or no longer used
655 Not assigned or no longer used
656 Not assigned or no longer used
657 Accounting
658 General management
659 Advertising & public relations
660 Chemical engineering
661 Industrial chemicals technology
662 Explosives, fuels technology
663 Beverage technology
664 Food technology
665 Industrial oils, fats, waxes, gases
666 Ceramic & allied technologies
667 Cleaning, color, related technologies
668 Technology of other organic products
669 Metallurgy
670 Manufacturing
671 Metalworking & metal products
672 Iron, steel, other iron alloys
673 Nonferrous metals
674 Lumber processing, wood products, cork
675 Leather & fur processing
676 Pulp & paper technology
677 Textiles
678 Elastomers & elastomer products
679 Other products of specific materials
680 Manufacture for specific uses
681 Precision instruments & other devices
682 Small forge work (Blacksmithing)
683 Hardware & household appliances
684 Furnishings & home workshops
685 Leather, fur, related products
686 Printing & related activities
687 Clothing
688 Other final products & packaging
689 Not assigned or no longer used
690 Buildings
691 Building materials
692 Auxiliary construction practices
693 Specific materials & purposes
694 Wood construction Carpentry
695 Roof covering
696 Utilities
697 Heating, ventilating, air-conditioning
698 Detail finishing
699 Not assigned or no longer used

700 The arts
701 Philosophy & theory
702 Miscellany
703 Dictionaries & encyclopedias
704 Special topics
705 Serial publications
706 Organizations & management
707 Education, research, related topics
708 Galleries, museums, private collections
709 Historical, areas, persons treatment
710 Civic & landscape art
711 Area planning (Civic art)
712 Landscape architecture
713 Landscape architecture of trafficways
714 Water features
715 Woody plants
716 Herbaceous plants
717 Structures
718 Landscape design of cemeteries
719 Natural landscapes
720 Architecture
721 Architectural structure
722 Architecture to ca. 300
723 Architecture from ca. 300 to 1399
724 Architecture from 1400
725 Public structures
726 Buildings for religious purposes
727 Buildings for education & research
728 Residential & related buildings
729 Design & decoration
730 Plastic arts Sculpture
731 Processes, forms, subjects of sculpture
732 Sculpture to ca. 500
733 Greek, Etruscan, Roman sculpture
734 Sculpture from ca. 500 to 1399
735 Sculpture from 1400
736 Carving & carvings
737 Numismatics & sigillography
738 Ceramic arts
739 Art metalwork
740 Drawing & decorative arts
741 Drawing & drawings
742 Perspective
743 Drawing & drawings by subject
744 Not assigned or no longer used
745 Decorative arts
746 Textile arts
747 Interior decoration
748 Glass
749 Furniture & accessories
750 Painting & paintings
751 Techniques, equipment, forms
752 Color
753 Symbolism, allegory, mythology, legend
754 Genre paintings
755 Religion & religious symbolism
756 Not assigned or no longer used
757 Human figures & their parts
758 Other subjects
759 Historical, areas, persons treatment
760 Graphic arts Printmaking & prints
761 Relief processes (Block printing)
762 Not assigned or no longer used
763 Lithographic (Planographic) processes
764 Chromolithography & serigraphy
765 Metal engraving
766 Mezzotinting & related processes
767 Etching & drypoint
768 Not assigned or no longer used
769 Prints
770 Photography & photographs
771 Techniques, equipment, materials
772 Metallic salt processes
773 Pigment processes of printing
774 Holography
775 Not assigned or no longer used
776 Not assigned or no longer used
777 Not assigned or no longer used
778 Fields & kinds of photography
779 Photographs
780 Music
781 General principles & musical forms
782 Vocal music
783 Music for single voices The voice
784 Instruments & Instrumental ensembles
785 Chamber music
786 Keyboard & other instruments
787 Stringed instruments (Chordophones)
788 Wind instruments (Aerophones)
789 Not assigned or no longer used
790 Recreational & performing arts
791 Public performances
792 Stage presentations
793 Indoor games & amusements
794 Indoor games of skill
795 Games of chance
796 Athletic & outdoor sports & games
797 Aquatic & air sports
798 Equestrian sports & animal racing
799 Fishing, hunting, shooting

800 Literature & rhetoric
801 Philosophy & theory
802 Miscellany
803 Dictionaries & encyclopedias
804 Not assigned or no longer used
805 Serial publications
806 Organizations
807 Education, research, related topics
808 Rhetoric & collections of literature
809 Literary history & criticism
810 American literature in English
811 Poetry
812 Drama
813 Fiction
814 Essays
815 Speeches
816 Letters
817 Satire & humor
818 Miscellaneous writings
819 Not used
820-829
820 English & Old English literatures
821 English poetry
822 English drama
823 English fiction
824 English essays
825 English speeches
826 English letters
827 English satire & humor
828 English miscellaneous writings
829 Old English (Anglo-Saxon)
830-839

For Works by or about an individual author, the citation order is to first class together all the works by or about an author, then secondly to subdivide by the Book Number Scheme. The first component of the call number is accomplished using an abbreviated or modified Dewey class number and an author cutter number. This is followed by the locally devised UIUC book number:
830 Literatures of Germanic languages
831 Early to 1517
832 Reformation, etc.  1517-1750
833 Classic period,  1750-1830
834 Post classic & modern,  1830-1940/50
835 Contemporary authors not already established in the UIUC catalog,  1940/50-
836 German dialect literature
837 German-American
838 German miscellaneous writings
839 Other Germanic literatures
840-849

For Works by or about an individual author, the citation order is to first class together all the works by or about an author, then secondly to subdivide by the Book Number Scheme. The first component of the call number is accomplished using an abbreviated or modified Dewey class number and an author cutter number. This is followed by the locally devised UIUC book number:
840 Literatures of Romance languages
841 Old and early French to 1400
842 Transition & renaissance periods, 1400-1600
843 Classical period, 1600-1715
844 18 ^th Century, 1715-1789
845 Revolution to present, 1789-1940/50
846 Contemporary authors not already established in the UIUC Catalog, 1940/50-
847 French Canadian
848 Provencal
849 French dialect literature
850-859

For Works by or about an individual author, the citation order is to first class together all the works by or about an author, then secondly to subdivide by the Book Number Scheme. The first component of the call number is accomplished using an abbreviated or modified Dewey class number and an author cutter number. This is followed by the locally devised UIUC book number:
850 Italian, Romanian, Rhaeto-Romanic
851 Early period to 1375
852 Classical learning, 1375-1492
853 1492-1585
854 1585-1814
855 1814-1940/50
856 Works in and/or about Italian dialects
857 Sardinian
858 Romanian (including Wallachian)
859 Rumansh, Rhastian, Rhaeto-Romanic, Moldavian
860-868

For Works by or about an individual author, the citation order is to first class together all the works by or about an author, then secondly to subdivide by the Book Number Scheme. The first component of the call number is accomplished using an abbreviated or modified Dewey class number and an author cutter number. This is followed by the locally devised UIUC book number:
860 Spanish & Portuguese literatures
861 Early to 1400
862 1400-1553
863 Golden age, 1554-1700
864 1700-1800
865 1800-
866 Works in and/or about Iberian dialects other than Castilian, Catalan and Portuguese, including Asturian/Bable, Aragonese, Navarrese, Ladino, Sephardic, Morisco, Aljamia
867 Catalan
868 Portuguese
869 South/Central American Literature
870-889
870 General works on Latin literature
871 Latin Authors
872 Collections of Latin prose or poetry
873 Not Used
874 Not Used
875 Medieval and modern Latin literature, 500 A.D. – date
876 Not Used
877 Not Used
878 Not Used
879 Classical literature-History and criticism
880 Hellenic literatures Classical Greek
881 Greek Authors
882 Collections of Greek prose or poetry
883 Not Used
884 Not Used
885 Modern Literature in the Ancient Greek Language
886 Not Used
887 Not Used
888 Not Used
889 Literature in Medieval and Modern Greek
890-891.49 Indic Literature
891.5 Iranian/Persian Literature
891.6 Celtic/Gaelic Literature
891.7 Slavic and Baltic Literatures
892-894 Afro-Asiatic Literature (Hamito-Semitic)
895-896 Literature in East Asian and African Languages
897-898 North and South American Native Languages
899 Other Literatures

900 Geography & history
901 Philosophy & theory
902 Miscellany
903 Dictionaries & encyclopedias
904 Collected accounts of events
905 Serial publications
906 Organizations & management
907 Education, research, related topics
908 With respect to kinds of persons
909 World history
910 Geography & travel
911 Historical geography
912 Graphic representations of earth
913 Ancient world
914 Europe
915 Asia
916 Africa
917 North America
918 South America
919 Other areas
920 Biography, genealogy, insignia
921 Not assigned or no longer used
922 Not assigned or no longer used
923 Not assigned or no longer used
924 Not assigned or no longer used
925 Not assigned or no longer used
926 Not assigned or no longer used
927 Not assigned or no longer used
928 Not assigned or no longer used
929 Genealogy, names, insignia
930 History of ancient world
931 History of ancient world China
932 History of ancient world Egypt
933 History of ancient world Palestine
934 History of ancient world India
935 History of ancient world Mesopotamia & Iranian Plateau
936 History of ancient world Europe north & west of Italy
937 History of ancient world Italy & adjacent territories
938 History of ancient world Greece
939 History of ancient world Other parts of ancient world
940 General history of Europe
941 General history of Europe British Isles
942 General history of Europe England & Wales
943 General history of Europe Central Europe Germany
944 General history of Europe France & Monaco
945 General history of Europe Italian Peninsula & adjacent islands
946 General history of Europe Iberian Peninsula & adjacent islands
947 General history of Europe Eastern Europe Soviet Union
948 General history of Europe Northern Europe Scandinavia
949 General history of Europe Other parts of Europe
950 General history of Asia Far East
951 General history of Asia China & adjacent areas
952 General history of Asia Japan
953 General history of Asia Arabian Peninsula & adjacent areas
954 General history of Asia South Asia India
955 General history of Asia Iran
956 General history of Asia Middle East (Near East)
957 General history of Asia Siberia (Asiatic Russia)
958 General history of Asia Central Asia
959 General history of Asia Southeast Asia
960 General history of Africa
961 General history of Africa Tunisia & Libya
962 General history of Africa Egypt & Sudan
963 General history of Africa Ethiopia
964 General history of Africa Morocco & Canary Islands
965 General history of Africa Algeria
966 General history of Africa West Africa & offshore islands
967 General history of Africa Central Africa & offshore islands
968 General history of Africa Southern Africa
969 General history of Africa South Indian Ocean islands
970 General history of North America
971 General history of North America Canada
972 General history of North America Middle America Mexico
973 General history of North America United States
973.7 L63 Used for Abraham Lincoln works
974 General history of North America Northeastern United States
975 General history of North America Southeastern United States
976 General history of North America South central United States
977 General history of North America North central United States
978 General history of North America Western United States
979 General history of North America Great Basin & Pacific Slope
980 General history of South America
981 General history of South America Brazil
982 General history of South America Argentina
983 General history of South America Chile
984 General history of South America Bolivia
985 General history of South America Peru
986 General history of South America Colombia & Ecuador
987 General history of South America Venezuela
988 General history of South America Guiana
989 General history of South America Paraguay & Uruguay
990 General history of other areas
991 Not assigned or no longer used
992 Not assigned or no longer used
993 General history of other areas New Zealand
994 General history of other areas Australia
995 General history of other areas Melanesia New Guinea
996 General history of other areas Other parts of Pacific Polynesia
997 General history of other areas Atlantic Ocean islands
998 General history of other areas Arctic islands & Antarctica
999 Extraterrestrial worlds