- LexisNexis State Capital
This useful subscription database provides up-to-date information about pending bills, current regulations, statutes and members of each state’s legislature as well as information about policy issues which affect state governments.
- State and Local Government on the Net
A database of United States state and local and government resources on the web, organized by state and/or territory.
- Meta-Indexes for State and Local Government Information
A website from the Library of Congress with information about state and local government resources on the web.
- Constitutions, Statutes, Bill Tracking and Codes
The Legal Information Institute (affiliated with Cornell Law School) has the Federal and State Constitutions as well as various other state and federal legal resources.
- WashLaw WEB’s State Legal Resources
Washburn Law Schools legal resources on the web related to state legislatures.
- State Administrative Codes and Registers
The website for the Administrative Codes and Registers Section of the National Secretaries of States, containing links for all codes and registers available online.
- Project Vote Smart
This nonpartisan organization compiles information about candidates positions and voting records.
- National Conference of State Legislatures
NCSL’s website provides news affecting state legislatures, information about policy issues and a forum for communications between its members.
- State Tax Forms
Federal and state tax forms on the web.
- Business Filings Databases
Provides access to sources with information related to business and technology-related issues, applications, resources and tools.
- StateList: An Electronic Source for State Publication Lists
Links to sites that list state government publications on the web.
- Fifty State Blue Book Guide
A guide to the blue books from the fifty states. A blue book is a the official directory and fact book about all levels of government in that state.
- State Agency Databases
Valuable information from state governments is often hidden from general search engines but accessible through online databases.
- State Legal Sources on the Web
This website provides the statutes, constitutions, bills, and other legal information for all fifty states.
- U.S. State Documents on the Center for Research Libraries Website
The Center for Research Libraries has a wide array of material that is not available anywhere else.
- Local and State Policy Innovations
Michigan State University LibGuide including links to sites that compile examples of innovative policies or best practices for local and state government.