Journalism Reporting Resources: Local

Statistics

• Census Data
  This is the Census Bureau’s tool for accessing 2000 and 2010 census data, with more recent statistics for states and selected cities and counties. Some earlier census data is in the National Historical Geographic Information System
• Census of Agriculture
  Provides statistics from the county to the national levels.
• Champaign-Urbana Public Health District web site
• County and City Data Book 2007
  Demographic, social, and economic data for states, counties, cities, and towns.
• County Business Patterns and Zip Code Business Patterns
  These two sources indicate how many businesses (by type) are located in each county and zip code area.
• Crime in Illinois
  Published annually by the Illinois State Police. Documents reported crimes in Illinois cities and counties, and in some special jurisdictions, such as universities and parks.
• Crime in the United States
  Topics include crime, arrests, and law enforcement personnel.  The preceding title was Uniform Crime Reports for the United States (1930-1997).
• Illinois Board of Higher education
  Find statistics on educational institutions, teachers, and students.
• Illinois Department of Public Health
  Provides statistics on births, deaths, marriage and divorce, abortions, health care, and related topics at the state and county levels.
• National Historical Geographic Information System
  Contains state and county data for the years 1790 to the present.
• ProQuest Statistical Insight
  Includes statistics in every field. To get local data, check by County, by City, or by Metro Area below the heading, Geography.
• Report Cards for Illinois schools
  Provides statistics on each school and school district in every Illinois county.
• Search for Public Schools
  Provides statistics on each primary and secondary school in the United States.
• State & County QuickFacts
  Contains demographic and business statistics issued by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Textual Sources

• Champaign County Department Directory
• Enforcement and Compliance History Online (ECHO)
  Use ECHO to determine whether compliance inspections have been conducted by EPA or State/local governments, if violations were detected, and if penalties were assessed.

County Communities

General Sources

• Community Profiles
  Click “Go to service” and select from the list of town and city names to access a page containing data on economic development, employment, utilities, taxes, transportation, health care, and local schools.
• State and Local Government on the Net
  In the left sidebar, click on the Local Govt. pull-down menu, select Illinois, and click on Go.  An alphabetical list of county and community names will appear.  Each community name is linked to a town or city web site.

Champaign

• City of Champaign homepage
• Champaign QuickFacts
• Champaign Public Library and Information Center

Urbana

• City of Urbana homepage
• Urbana QuickFacts
• Urbana Free Library
• Urbana Municipal Documents from Champaign County Historical Archives Local History Online

Mahomet

• Village of Mahomet homepage
• Community QuickFacts
• Mahomet Public Library District

Rantoul

• Village of Rantoul homepage
• Community QuickFacts
• Rantoul Public Library

Savoy

• Village of Savoy homepage
• Community QuickFacts

Champaign County

• Community Profile

University of Illinois General Information

• Index to Campus Data Sources
• Budget Book
• Campus Profile
• Student Enrollment Information
• UIHistories Project

Student Government & Organizations

• Illinois Student Government
• Illini Union Board
• Registered student organizations

University Government

• Board of Trustees
• Campus Administrative Manual
• General Rules Concerning University Organization and Procedure
• Senate
• University of Illinois Statutes

Other Sources

• Illinois Freedom of Information Act
• USA.gov